The Scatterday Matriarchy 4.9: It’s Just Instinct

Screenshot-519

“Come on Hestia! Just say something, anything! Please, I’m begging you!”

“Heeeeee beeeeeegggggg….”

Welcome back to the Scatterday Matriarchy! Yup, updates are still slow. Seriously, I’ve been busy working and socializing in offline settings, like some sort of freak. Anyway, since tomorrow (that’s March 20, 2016, which is actually in fifteen minutes as I’m publishing this at 11:45 pm on March 19) is my third legaversary and I have no other plans tonight, have an update! Three years of the Scatterdays, holy shit! :O Anyways, let’s get on with this update, as it has a few things that people want to see, I think (like Natalie becoming a teenager!).

Screenshot-520

As you can see from the previous picture, Mitchell is still being the world’s best big brother to little Hestia. Everyone is pitching in to avoid another Manfred toddler skilling fail, which Callie took particularly hard. Hestia is going to be able to walk, talk, and not crap herself when we’re through with her!

“Must…not…fail…children….”

“Mama walk?”

“MUST…NOT…FAIL…”

Screen Shot 2015-07-03 at 10.29.50 PM

Natalie is also going to become a teenager today! I know a few of you were waiting for this, and I’m sure everyone is curious about her looks.

Screenshot-521

Manfred is doing well, all things considered. His Insane trait means that he’s a lot like his mother, which I think is fantastic.

“Hey handsome, how you doing?!”

He’s already got the patented Scatterday inappropriate clothing perfected. :’)

Screenshot-522

Manfred also loves costumes, and he’s going to wander around wearing silly costumes and finger-gunning himself in the mirror, I’m sure as hell not stopping him.

Screenshot-523

“Excuse me, peasant, I’m going to need you to dine with the donkeys tonight!”

“Not now, your highness! I need to fuel up before my race!”

“…is it just me, but are kids weirder than they used to be?”

Screen Shot 2015-07-03 at 10.38.00 PM

Oooh prom! You know what that means, eh? PROM SPAM.

Also Natalie should be allowed to attend, as she ages up just in time!

Screenshot-524

Meanwhile, Callie finally got to eat her favourite food: Dim Sum! Angelo managed to reach level 9 of Cooking, so naturally he had to cook his daughter’s favourite food. I don’t think Callie has ever eaten it before, unless Auden or Zhan cooked it before they died.

Screenshot-525

Speaking of Angelo, he’s still doing pretty well, though he seems to be feeling his age a little bit.

“Hey Callie, did you see these great pictures of my grandchildren? This one is…uh…Hestia, I think. She peed her pants today!”

“Dad, I know Hestia. She’s right behind us, and I did push her out of my body.”

“Yeah, but have you seen her baby pictures?!”

“…I took those, Dad.”

Screenshot-526

Natalie doesn’t get a birthday cake, because I momentarily forgot her birthday. She was wandering about Bridgeport, trying to collect bugs for an opportunity.

Screenshot-527

“My only regret is that Puzzle isn’t here!”

Whew. At least she’s understanding!

Screenshot-528

…and here she is as a teenager!

“Change my dress, now. It’s not purple enough!”

She rolled Party Animal for her Teen trait.

Screenshot-529

Here’s a better picture of her face, pre-makeover. She’s got a lot of Heimie in her, but I think she’s got Callie’s fuller lips. I think she’s quite pretty! Definitely a unique Sim, which just makes me like her even more.

Screenshot-530

Here she is, post-makeover. I believe this is her formal outfit – I think she had a tea party before she went out, hence the weird outfit.

Natalie gave me a bit of a rocker/party girl vibe, which I tried to reflect in her clothing. Very purple and ~edgy~.

Screenshot-531

Naturally, if Natalie grew up, that means Puzzle is due to grow up too!

“…why are you staring at the corner, Natalie?”

“Chill, Ma. It’s just Puzzle growing up.”

“…okay then. ohnoI’vefailedasamotherandallmykidsarecrazyohnoooooo…

Screenshot-532

Griselda continues to churn out novel after novel. She’s basically tethered to her computer at this point, which is probably safer for everyone.

“Hmmm….what’s a synonym for ‘butt plug’?”

Yeah it’s definitely safer to chain her to the computer.

Screenshot-533

“Hmmm…should I get a bigger bed, now that I’m a teenager? Isn’t sleeping in a princess bed too kiddy?”

Ah yes, those classic Deep Teenager Thoughts™.

Screen Shot 2015-07-03 at 11.31.13 PM

I was trying to put Natalie to bed, when I saw this pop up. There are many, many things wrong with this screenshot.

  1. Why is Manfred still awake at 12:30 on a school night?
  2. Why is Heimrich patronizing his son? (Well I’m assuming this is because of his Dislikes Children trait.)
  3. WHY AM I MISSING THIS INTERACTION?! IT’S PROBABLY AWFUL AND HILARIOUS.

Screenshot-534

Manfred put himself to bed before I could catch Heimrich patronizing him in person. 😦 I did catch Callie freaking out about her (non-existent) wrinkles.

“Oh god I’m so old. What if Heimie divorces me because of these lines?! I NEED A FACIAL.”

Screenshot-535

Hestia’s toddler training continued. It actually plunged some other household residents into a state of regression.

“….okay Hestia, walking training continues right after I pee my pants!”

“Heeeee Mitchie funny!”

Screenshot-536

Screenshot-537

I also decided to turn the small room next to Natalie’s bedroom into a music room. Natalie hasn’t rolled a lifetime wish yet, and she has the Virtuoso trait, so I’d like her to roll a Music-related LTW to go with it. Most Scatterdays who roll Virtuoso never do a dang thing with it, and I’d like to change that.

Screenshot-538

Heimrich graciously let Mitchell tag out of toddler training, but unfortunately teaching Hestia to talk was torture for him.

“Heeeeeee!”

“….why can’t you work with me, Hestia? Talking isn’t that hard.”

It did not go well.

Screenshot-539

Yeah, I’d be throwing a tantrum too.

Screen Shot 2015-07-03 at 11.48.05 PM

Oh. I see. Yeah, I’d definitely throw a tantrum if I had to go through childhood again. :/

(Bullying and living in small towns sucks, kids.)

Screen Shot 2015-07-03 at 11.48.09 PM

Mitchell is so in sync with his little sister that he also decided to throw a tantrum today.

Screenshot-540

At least Natalie’s in a better mood.

“Look, I’d totally bring you to school, Puzz, but I think the whole invisible thing will throw things off-kilter. We’ll hang out when I get home, okay?”

Screenshot-541

I actually squealed with delight when I saw Manfred wandering around the house wearing his tiny tux. He’s adorable!

“Hey, it’s my first day of school. I have to look good!”

Screen Shot 2015-07-03 at 11.51.30 PM

Once again, the paparazzi try to spread rumours about my Sims that are actually true. -_- Remember the Chinese tourist incident? Okay, so Grissy didn’t actually beat him up, but there was some conflict.

Screen Shot 2015-07-03 at 11.52.53 PM

Callie’s still in full-on midlife crisis mode, too. She still wants to Woohoo and make out with her husband, but screw that, let’s flirt with someone else! UGH.

Screenshot-542

“You know, Callie, if you really want out there are, uh, plenty of fish in the sea.”

“Hmm….nah, let’s stay married. I’ve got juice to drink.”

Screenshot-543

Poor Mitchell exhausted himself by staying up late to do toddler training.

“I feel like I’ve gotta pass out! Can you take over toddler training, Natalie?”

“Pfft. Not my kid, not my problem. Go take a nap, Mitchell.”

Screenshot-544

Natalie decided to paint, as she had a few Painting skill-related wishes.

“This blue represents my ANGST.”

Kids these days. When I was teenager we used black to represent angst!

Screenshot-545

The grandparents are mostly left to their own devices these days. I have no reason to micromanage them anymore!

“Ew, no I will NOT go on a date! My wife is in her underpants right next to me! I don’t need anyone else!”

“Heh. Nice to know he still cares after all these years.”

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 12.07.10 AM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 12.07.18 AM

Callie went back to work, after finally burning through all of her old maternity leave, and she got a promotion on her first day back! Naturally, she picked the Directing branch, for her Lifetime Wish.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 12.07.46 AM

And of course, her boss hits on her. *sigh*

Screenshot-546

“No Puzzle, I am not drinking too much! I totally finished that essay, too! I deserve this!”

“…just going to ignore my underage daughter raiding the family bar with her Imaginary Friend….”

That’s probably for the best, Callie.

Screenshot-547

It’s time for the youngest Gen. 5 kiddo to age into a child!

Screenshot-548

AAAAAHHHH

KILL IT WITH FIRE

Screenshot-549

Okay, so Hestia is actually pretty cute when she’s not all stretched out during an age transition.

She rolled Can’t Stand Art for her childhood trait. She’s not going to do well in this house. 😦

Screenshot-550

“Okay, fine, Puzzle. I’ll stop drinking and start my damn homework that totally isn’t due until next week. You know we could be drinking now, right?!”

“Excellent! I’m proud of you. What I wouldn’t give to go to school and write an essay myself…”

“Listen to your Imaginary Friend, Natalie. Doing well in school is important!”

Screenshot-551

“Now to wash the directing stench off of me…OH GOD DAD, PUT SOME CLOTHES ON!”

“Well excuse you, you’re the one who wandered in without knocking! I know this isn’t the first time you’ve seen a wrinkly old-man ass!”

This family is entirely too comfortable with each other. -_-

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 12.25.33 AM

Aww Natalie got this opportunity! However, I declined it because the house is full, I don’t want Natalie to spend every waking moment searching for a Rainbow Gem, and Angelo already has the Imaginary Friend potion in his inventory (Natalie declined it last chapter).

Screenshot-552

The nursery has been transformed into a very lilac bedroom for Hestia. She gets a big girl bed and everything!

Screenshot-553

Being a child means more opportunities to bond with Mitchell, too. It didn’t take long for him to introduce Hestia to the wonders of video games.

“…so if I bash you in the head with a suitcase, like so, then you die and I win, right?!”

“Ugh, YES. How did you get so good at this, anyway?”

“I don’t know. It’s just instinct, I guess!”

Screenshot-554

Yes, Hestia being a child just means even more bonding opportunities!

“Hear ye, hear ye! I hereby call the Morning Court into session! Will King Mitchell make some opening remarks?”

“….ugh, not now, Hestia! I need some more sleep…”

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 3.56.13 PM

Oh thank goodness! (Her one wish was buying a sports car, which the family could easily afford.)

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.08.47 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.08.49 PM

I feel like Callie is overcompensating for the whole wanting to flirt with someone else thing.

Screenshot-555

I just can’t stand in the way of their happiness, though! I love my delightfully pervy Sims.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.10.11 PM

Poor Natalie’s first day of high school means her first interactions with weird creepy boys.

RUN AWAY, HE ONLY WANTS YOUR SWEET SIMOLEONS!

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.13.30 PM

Heimrich is a good boss!

Screenshot-556

“All right! School is over! I can finally get some sleep!”

“Dude, why don’t you sleep at night? Like…normal people?”

Hahaha I weep for Mitchell’s sleep schedule.

Screenshot-557

Natalie is much more productive that her brother, so after a quick snack, she went to work at Heimrich’s Business Factory for an opportunity.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.19.23 PM

Apparently having your daughter work for you means promotions? Heimrich is now only one level away from achieving his Lifetime Wish!

Screenshot-558

“Heeeeeee Dim Sum!”

Callie’s day was just as exciting.

Screenshot-559

It quickly went downhill, though.

“What the hell, Mom? I need the computer to write a screenplay!”

“Well, I need to finish my latest novel, and the computer upstairs is really hot.”

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.32.05 PM

Heimrich is no slacker. Getting a promotion and maxing a skill in the same day takes some serious…uh….skills.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.32.08 PM

Griselda also managed to finish another novel! A Punch and a Poke sounds wonderfully deviant, and exactly like something Grissy would write.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.36.20 PM

Natalie woke up with a mood swing. 😦 No, I don’t think that will be happening…

(Mostly because Puzzle is her only friend.)

Screenshot-560

I also managed to finally take heir and spouse portraits of Callie and Heimrich! Callie’s portrait also has a bonus Hestia, which ends up being a good thing because of…reasons.

I stuck all of the heir and spouse portraits in the music room, because the walls looked very bare, and there’s room for two more generations of portraits.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.47.00 PM

Mitchell is definitely not living up to his namesake. I, personally, am okay with that. I can’t imagine Joe Don’s Mitchell making honour roll – he’d just eat a bunch of rolls instead.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.47.56 PM

It’s also prom night!

Screenshot-561

Natalie looks lovely in her previously seen very rock/emo/whatever the kids are into nowadays purple getup.

Screenshot-562

Mitchell gets the frilly 70s tux, for many reasons.

I forgot to give him socks with his preppy white shoes. Imagine the sweat situation, people! *shudders*

Screenshot-563

“Why are you sitting so far away from me?”

“I want it on record that I’m only sharing a limo with you because Puzzle can’t come to prom with us.”

“Of course Puzzle isn’t coming! Puzzle’s not real!”

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.53.08 PM

I’d snub him for a lot less than insulting my best (imaginary) friend. Frankly, Mitchell brought this on himself.

PROM SPAM TIME

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.55.16 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.55.24 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.56.34 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.56.38 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.57.43 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.57.47 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.58.14 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.58.20 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.59.05 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.59.29 PM

Yup, Natalie and Mitchell ended up being Prom King and Queen. They both got rejected by crushes too. Overall, not the best prom night.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 5.00.56 PM

My thoughts exactly, Natalie.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.59.46 PM

I’m pretty sure I had these exact moodlets after my prom, along with moodlets for “Holy Shit Fuck The 19+ Students For Spilling Vodka All Over The Dance Floor” and “Shit Rock Band Is Fun But Did That Bitch Seriously Say That A Song About The Horrors Of The Vietnam War Was Funny?!”

(Prom is a waste of time, kids!)

Screenshot-564

Mitchell and Natalie weren’t the only Scatterdays having a fun night out! Angelo had a Logic-skill related opportunity to visit the theatre and destroy some jerk at chess.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.57.13 PM

He was successful!

Screenshot-565

Hestia was stuck at home, and clearly did not have a good night.

“YOU KNOW WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOUR GENERATION?! EVERYTHING! BUT LET ME GO OVER EACH WRONG THING IN DETAIL.”

“G-Grandma…you’re hurting me…”

Screenshot-566

“BAH! Back in my day, kids were tougher! Grandmothers could pinch shoulders and nobody would complain!”

“I….I’m going to go to bed, okay….just don’t pinch me, Grandma…”

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 5.02.04 PM

Not only did he down some jerk in a game of chess, but Angelo also managed to maximize his Cooking skill!

Screenshot-567

Yes! I caught Heimrich trying to patronize Manfred again!

“So…you think you’re cute in a suit, huh?”

“Don’t talk down to me, Father. I know exactly what I’m doing.”

Screenshot-568

“Well hello, my hungry teens! Help yourself to some turkey! Hestia, please go to bed. I need to run myself a bath.”

“Uh…thanks, Grandpa. It was a rough night. I still can’t believe this dingus was Prom King to my awesome Prom Queen.”

“Shut up, Natalie! Grandpa, why are you having a bath now?”

“Oh, I think you both know why.”

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 5.06.43 PM

Of course. And of course I failed to capture it on camera. 😦

Screenshot-569

“Actually, Grandma won’t care if I stink. It’s time for bed!”

“You nasty, Grandpa.”

I think it’s time to end things here. However, here are a few quick updates from around Bridgeport:

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.24.03 PM

Deangelo is only a day or two younger than Natalie, so naturally he also aged into a teen. He was also bitten by the unfortunate Male Pigtails Bug.

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 4.30.23 PM

Speaking of Frankie, she’s setting the town ablaze – literally!

Screen Shot 2015-07-04 at 5.04.55 PM

She’s also fighting with her long-term partner and Deangelo’s father, Matthew Hamming. This always happens, thanks to her Insane trait, so Matthew probably did something like fail to pick up a coin on the street, which is unacceptable to Frankie.

That’s it for this chapter of the Scatterday Matriarchy! Thanks for reading, and happy Simming! 🙂

7 thoughts on “The Scatterday Matriarchy 4.9: It’s Just Instinct

  1. Oh, Mitchell, never change! 😀 I adore that guy. Not so much looks, but he tries sooo hard! Natalie’s very interesting looking as a teen! And Hestia’s just too cute! ^_^

    Prom night sounded hard! So many rejections, but the teens each got crowned, so, I guess, that’s something?

    Awesome chapter!

    • Mitchell turned out to be such a sweet Sim! I love how much he cares for his younger siblings. :’)

      Natalie and Hestia are both adorable. Natalie is definitely unique, which is what I was going for this generation.

      Prom night was not fun for the teens. 😦 Ah well, at least it was entertaining!

      Thanks for reading and commenting! 🙂

  2. I love Hestia’s child (and toddler?) hairstyle! That bun with the lil’ braid is so cute! Agree with you about Natalie’s looks, unique but still pretty. It’s going to be an interesting heir poll!

    Have never seen the “patronize” interaction before, how random!

    • Yup, Hestia has the same toddler and child hair! It’s an older hair, I *think* it’s by Peggy? I think it works best for kiddos, even though it’s enabled for all ages.

      I’m glad you like Natalie’s looks! Sadly, there won’t be an heir poll this time around, for…reasons…that will be explained not in the next chapter, but the chapter after that.

      I didn’t know that there was a Patronize interaction, either! I think it’s autonomous, or under the Mean category, because I sure didn’t make him behave that way. Poor Manfred, though. 😦

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. You’re up on my catching-up list!

    I love Natalie! What a great face, and a great makeover!

    William, my Gen 2 ISBI spouse, liked to patronize his kids. He was Mean Spirited amongst other undesirable traits, and I figured that was it.

    • Yay! Everything is on my catching-up list! Hahahahahaha *dies under pile of unread legacy posts*

      I’m so glad you like Natalie! I love her unique face. I think she got the best of both Heimrich and Callie.

      Maybe both Mean-Spirited and Dislikes Children Sims can patronize kids? It certainly seems like something a Mean-Spirited Sim would do.

      Thanks for catching up! I’m sorry my blog thought you were spam. :/ It should be fixed by now!

  4. Manfred is pretty awesome for someone who flopped around as a toddler. Makes him do other things than watch TV.
    Angelo boasting about Hestia to Callie, Omg Sim Elders, don’t ever change.
    Natalie defenitely looks better in-game than in CAS. Lucky, most sims have it the other way around.
    And I love her already.

Leave a Reply

